Organizing resistance to Internet censorship

On January 16, 2018, the World Socialist Web Site will video livestream a discussion on Internet censorship, featuring Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Chris Hedges and WSWS International Editorial Board Chairperson David North.

– World Socialist Web Site

WSWS reporter Andre Damon will moderate the discussion. The webinar will explore the political context of the efforts to censor the Internet and abolish net neutrality, examine the pretexts used to justify the suppression of free speech (i.e., “fake news”), and discuss political strategies to defend democratic rights. Hedges and North will also field questions from on-line listeners.

The webinar will be streamed live by the WSWS on YouTube and Facebook on Tuesday, January 16 at 7:00 pm EST (midnight in London, 1:00am in Berlin, 3:00am in Moscow and 11:00 am January 17 in Sydney. Full Time Zone Conversions).

***

Chris Hedges is the host of RT’s On Contact and a Pulitzer prize-winning journalist who worked as a foreign correspondent for nearly two decades for The New York Times, The Dallas Morning News, The Christian Science Monitor and National Public Radio. He presently writes a weekly column for Truthdig, an on-line magazine based in Los Angeles.

Hedges is also the author of the bestsellers American Fascists: The Christian Right and the War on America, Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle and was a National Book Critics Circle finalist for his book War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning. Hedges has taught at Columbia University, New York University, Princeton University and the University of Toronto.

David North has played a leading role in the international socialist movement for forty-five years, and is presently the chairperson of the International Editorial Board of the World Socialist Web Site and national chairperson of the Socialist Equality Party (US). His published works include A Quarter-Century of War: The US Drive for Global Hegemony; The Russian Revolution and the Unfinished Twentieth Century; The Frankfurt School, Postmodernism and the Politics of the Pseudo-Left: A Marxist Critique; and In Defense of Leon Trotsky.

Andre Damon has written extensively on Google’s censorship of left wing, anti-war, and progressive web sites.

Please register for the event for updates and more information. Leave a donation to help make events like this possible.

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/organizing-resistance-to-internet-censorship-tickets-41629871065

This entry was posted in Bürgerbewegung, Freiheit, Geldsystem, Gerechtigkeit, Kultur, Politik, Propaganda, Selbstorganisation, Technik and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply